Décès du prince Philip, duc d’Édimbourg

Image of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburg

Avec grande tristesse, Son Honneur, Antoinette Perry, lieutenante-gouverneure de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a été informée du décès du prince Philip, duc d’Édimbourg le 9 avril 2021.

« Le Prince Philip a été un compagnon fidèle de Sa Majesté, dévoué et soutenant son service pour le pays et le Commonwealth.  Grâce à son programme, Le Prix international du Duc d'Édimbourg, il a motivé de nombreux jeunes de l’Île à s'impliquer et à s'engager, en les dotant efficacement des compétences et du leadership nécessaires pour transformer leur vie et leur communauté.  

Notre province a accueilli Son Altesse Royale à plusieurs reprises et nous partageons cette tristesse avec tous les autres peuples du Commonwealth. La Lieutenante-gouverneure Perry présente ses plus sincères condoléances, au nom de tous Insulaires, à Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth et à tous les membres de la famille royale. »

-  Son Honneur, Antoinette Perry, lieutenante-gouverneure de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Livre de condoléances

Les Insulaires sont invités à offrir leurs condoléances en signant le livre de condoléances en ligne du gouvernement du Canada.

Signer le livre de condoléances en ligne

Visitez canada.ca pour en savoir plus

Visites royales à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a eu l’honneur de recevoir Sa Majesté et Son Altesse Royale avant et pendant le règne de la reine Elizabeth comme monarque. Ils ont fait leur première visite comme princesse Elizabeth et Philip, duc d’Édimbourg en 1951, et sont revenus à l’Île de nouveau en 1959 comme reine Elizabeth II et prince Philip, duc d’Édimbourg.

Historical image of royal visit to PEI
Sa Majesté, la reine Elizabeth II et le prince Philip disent au revoir au lieutenant-gouverneur Willibald Joseph MacDonald et à sa femme Agnes durant leur visite à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 1964. (Crédit photo : Bureau des archives et des documents publics de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Acc5099/51)

Voir l’album complet des visites historiques par Son Altesse Royale

The Passing of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh

Portrait of Duke of Edinburgh

With great sadness, Her Honour Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island has been advised of the passing of His Royal Highness Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh on April 9, 2021.

"Prince Philip has been a steadfast consort to Her Majesty, devoted to and supportive of her service to the country and Commonwealth.  Through his Duke of Edinburgh International Award Program, he has motivated many Island youth to become involved and engaged, effectively equipping them with the skills and leadership needed to transform their lives and their communities.  

Our province has welcomed His Royal Highness on several occasions and we share in this sadness with all other peoples of the Commonwealth. Lieutenant Governor Perry extends her sincerest condolences, on behalf of all Islanders, to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth and all members of the Royal Family."

- Her Honour the Honourable Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island

Book of condolence

Islanders are invited to offer sympathies by signing the Government of Canada online book of condolence.

Sign the online book of condolence

Funeral of the Duke of Edinburgh - Saturday, April 17 

CBC and CTV will be carrying live coverage on main network and news channel beginning at 9:30 am (Atlantic time).

The Government of Canada will have a National Commemorative Ceremony in honour of His Royal Highness which will begin at 1:30 pm (Atlantic time).

Visit canada.ca to learn more

Royal visits to Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island has been honored with the presence of Her Majesty and His Royal Highness prior to, and throughout Queen Elizabeth’s reign as Monarch. They first visited as Princess Elizabeth and Philip, Duke of Edinburgh in 1951, and traveled to the Island again in 1959 as Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

Image of Their Royal Highnesses, 1964
Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip saying goodbye to Lieutenant Governor Willibald Joseph MacDonald and his wife Agnes during their visit to Prince Edward Island in 1964. (Credit: Public Archives and Records Office, Acc5099/51)

View full album of Historical Royal Visits by HRH